Doggy Dates | Thunderstorms | Rabbits

This weekend Mona got to get out of the house for a while and have a play date with her Jack Russell boyfriend, Camber. Camber is still a puppy so he has a LOT of energy and Mona doesn’t really get to play much with Ron (since he’s generally pretty lazy) so she was pretty excited about the chance to run around and strut her stuff. They’re both around the same size which makes things fun for them, too. Ever since Mona was a puppy she always had to be close to me when we’re in new places. That makes sense, and I’m grateful for that! I’d rather her be close to me than running around who knows where! So, for example… when I took her to a local small dog play group when she was younger to help her socialize, she would make her base camp under my chair. She’d run out and play with another dog for a couple minutes and then run back under my chair. Which naturally led to a lot of other dogs following her back to under my chair. She’s a weirdo. Since I was on a couch and not a chair this time, she made her base camp on my lap. Not necessarily the best place when she’s running full speed and being chased/chasing another dog… Aye!

(Getting non-blurry pictures of a doggy date is hard work, let me tell ya…)

When we got home that night, my eyes were bothering me (i.e. I looked like a puffy, red eyed alien) from the cat dander at my friends house so I popped some Benadryl and went to bed. I was OUT. Dead to the world. Little did I know, we had lots of overnight thunderstorms so Mona was a hot mess. As mentioned, Ron is calm and doesn’t get bothered by much so he could care less. Mona though… nope. She went right to my boyfriend (aka. her thunder buddy) and spent the rest of the night with him. Normally I put a little lavender essential oil on her when I know it’s going to storm. I wish I would have known. Could have saved Mona & Thunder Buddy some sleepless hours!


Ron update for the week!:

Ron is a relatively low prey drive greyhound. He’s fine will all small dogs, he’s scared of cats, but rabbits… Ron likes rabbits. A lot. He caught one in the backyard a couple months ago. Surprisingly enough he didn’t kill it, just held it in his mouth and tried to present me with a lovely gift. Side note: has anyone heard a rabbit scream? it is THE WORST sound in the entire world. I think I’ve been traumatized by that whole experience! hahah! Anyway, we were going for a walk (since it is #nationalwalkyourdogweek) this week when a rabbit ran out in front of us on the trail. My friend was walking Ron and I saw her jerk forward before I saw the rabbit. Thank goodness she had a good grip on his leash! His ears were high and he was on alert for a couple minutes after that. Just like Mona likes to stick her nose in every hole she finds, Ron likes to chase rabbits. Can’t say they don’t sometimes do what they were originally bred to do! 😉

Published by

Nichole

Slightly dog obsessed, forever optimist, and always trying to better myself. I'm a 27 year old wandering my way through this life looking for adventures with my two dogs, Ron and Mona.

7 thoughts on “Doggy Dates | Thunderstorms | Rabbits”

  1. Great action shots of your little dog playing 🙂 It’s lovely when they find the right dog to play with. 🙂
    And yes, I’ve heard a rabbit scream. As you say, it’s not something you’ll ever forget. It was one of our pet rabbits, that had escaped their enclosure in the garden while we were out. When we got home our dogs came running round from the back, where the silly rabbit had squeezed itself under the fence. I bellowed at the dogs to stay (they never attacked the rabbits) while I tried to get through the gate to rescue the rabbit. It had screamed when the dogs suddenly ran round. Well, I thought the rabbit might still die from a heart attack, so we put him back in his hutch and hoped for the best. He was fine! Phew! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

