Dog Collar Shadowbox

I’m generally NOT a DIY person. I’m not very creative, lets just be honest. I have plenty of ideas, but they just swirl around in a big mess in my head and never come to fruition. Even if they do occasionally show themselves, they end up looking awful and not at all what I imagined. I’ve accepted my fate, though! Not all of us can be superstar crafters and creative geniuses. However! I have had a couple notable exceptions and created things that even I feel okay about. On that note, I thought I’d show you the progress I’ve made in my “dog room”, and my favorite crafty project I’ve done in there. I ordered these prints from WellBredDesigns on Etsy (you might have seen them featured here about 5 perfect gifts to give to dog lovers) and they inspired me to make something to show off the many, many, collars I’ve purchased throughout the years.

img_0478

I picked up a shadowbox from my local craft store, but you can get a similar one on amazon here and I used some paw print scrapbooking paper to serve as my backdrop. Then I just tossed in some of the old collars I had lying around and voila! Every time I look at it I remember little memories from specific collars (because I’m weird like that and remember what they were wearing). Plus the mix of bigger martingale collars with smaller regular ones makes for an interesting visual element. I’ve also put bows that the groomer will put on Mona when she gets her nails clipped in there and Ron’s old collar from his track days is in there as well. I love it now, and I think I’ll still love it later… I’ll especially be happy I have things to remember them by. But we don’t talk about those days. They’ll live forever, of course.

And that’s that! If I ever come up with other crafty dog ideas I’ll be sure to share. Maybe this even gave you some crafty ideas of your own! Now show me some of your dog crafts! 🙂

Always,
Nichole

Published by

Nichole

Slightly dog obsessed, forever optimist, and always trying to better myself. I'm a 27 year old wandering my way through this life looking for adventures with my two dogs, Ron and Mona.

Leave a Reply

